Thread: Uploading imaes then moving to new folders
|New topic Reply||Page: 1|
12/04/09 11:57 AM
I am having problems with upoading graphics to our blog.
What I do is create an image, save it to a temporary desktop file. Then I write the blog page, upload the image, and it is done.
Then, I move the blog image from one folder to another, or I may even want to delete the image when I am done. BUT when I move the folder or delete the image, the image dissappears from the live site. What should happen is that the website should store the image as soon as I upload it, and not depend on my laptop.
I just lost like 30 images off the live site, and have to upload them.
What is happening? Has anyone experienced this?
12/04/09 12:13 PM
It sounds like you have a misunderstanding of how web files work. If you upload a file to the server then delete it it's gone. Simple as that. If you move a file but do not change or update the links to the image in your blog post then it will point to a file that no longer exists. This works exactly as it should, so I think what you need to understand is that once you upload a file, then you need to leave it on the server and not delete it unless you absolutely do not want people to see it.
The second possible issue I can see in case I misunderstood what your saying... If you have files on your desktop or in a folder on your hard drive and the link you used in the editor looked something like this: C:\MyFolder\image.jpg this will work for you only. Only you can see the image. Nobody else. If you then delete the image from your hard drive then it too will be broken because the file no longer exists.
If I totally missed your question then feel free to correct me. If not, then you might want to check out the 10th video on this page to learn how to upload photos to your website. http://www.visual28.com/training/
Mark - www.visual28.com | www.mangowear.com